European Vacation Part 1

Almost two months ago John and I took the most amazing trip to visit our dear friends Mark and Krystal who moved to Switzerland a year and a half ago (it seems much longer!).  My amazing husband surprised me at Christmas with tickets.  I wish there was video of me opening the tickets.  I freaked out, I was so excited.  So much that G was a little scared and kept asking why I was yelling.

Fast forward 4 months and we were in Switzerland.  The first day Mark and Krystal met us at the airport and brought us back to their apartment.  We were trying to beat jet lag and since it was morning their time we had to try to stay up the whole day.  The solution?  Hike a mountain.  I was actually pretty excited about this.  I had seen the pictures or previous hikes and it looked cool.

Here’s what it looked like from their apartment.

Krystal was off the hook since she had to work, but John, Mark and I geared ourselves up and set off.  I am serious when I say hiking up the mountain was fun.  We experienced all four seasons in a matter of hours on this hike and for most of the way up the season was summer.  We chatted, admired scenery, and huffed an puffed but in a good way.  About two-thirds of the way up the weather turned fall-ish.  It got cooler and mistier-which turned to drizzle.

The closer we got to the top the more snow patches we ran into.  Mark was right, you would see the summit, hike a long time, and then look again only for it to seem no closer.  After about 3 hours we reached the top where the weather had turned cold, windy, and rainy.  Mark and John took turns wearing the hat they had brought with.We paused briefly to eat the lunches we had brought and then started back down in the wintery weather.  Going down was a whole other animal.  I was not afraid of falling while going up but very much so on the way going down.  Luckily I had on Krystal’s waterproof hiking shoes which were way better than John’s super slick running shoes.  I can’t tell you how many times John and I fell on the way down, me because I was chicken and John because of his shoes.  I don’t think Mark fell once, in fact he probably could have run down the mountain in half the time it took me to pick my way down carefully.  Let me just say that Hitchcock got it right in the movie Vertigo.  I was feeling just like Jimmy Stewart and had to keep my eyes down.  By the time we got halfway down the weather had turned to a drizzly, but warmer, spring.I was so glad we did it, and was especially glad to be done.  If I could choose, I would climb up twice before going down it once.  We had beaten our jet lag since it was evening by the time we were done and could crash without any guilt.  Thus ended our first day in Switzerland.  Stay tuned my next installment, our adventures in Rome.

About Alex

I'm a believer, a wife, a mom, a runner, a gardener, a wannabe fashionista.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to European Vacation Part 1

  1. Krystal says:

    ohhhh the buochserhorn…i went up it two w/e’s ago…and was so sore for a week! i don’t know how you did it!

Comments are closed.